Atom Clones

wanna-atom!

Atom Clones

Post by wanna-atom! » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:18 am

Ummm... I'm an engineer.  I dunno if I can wait a year to get an Atom from the factory.  I have a well equipped shop and I like to build things.  I've done engine swaps and stuff.  The Atom doesn't look that complicated, except for the fiberglass parts.  I could easily weld up the frame.  Hmmmm... stop me before I do something silly. 

AtomFun

Re: Have you ever dreamed about making your own Atom ?

Post by AtomFun » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:24 am

STOP!

We've heard it all before and the forum is littered with DIY attempts to replicate the Atom and they look pig ugly too!

wanna-atom!

Post by wanna-atom! » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:32 am

*laughs

Nobody said anything about building something ugly !  I've got a pipe bender that would make those two main tubes in about an hour...

I know what you are saying though.

bolus

Post by bolus » Fri Feb 09, 2007 8:35 am

when I was down for my tour Craig mentioned something about needing a special computer controlled tube bender that could put different angle and different direction bends in the same tube.  It was apparently a pretty unique tube bender. 

benyeats

Post by benyeats » Fri Feb 09, 2007 10:06 am

[quote="wanna-atom!"]
The Atom doesn't look that complicated, except for the fiberglass parts.  I could easily weld up the frame.  Hmmmm... stop me before I do something silly. 
[/quote]

I think you should build one, it will probably be just as good.  Try contacting Brammo or Ariel and ask for copies of the CAD to help out

Ben

KK

Post by KK » Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:52 am

[quote="benyeats"]
I think you should build one, it will probably be just as good.  Try contacting Brammo or Ariel and ask for copies of the CAD to help out

Ben
[/quote]
Could a moderator move Ben's post to the thread available here where it appears to be more appropriate. And it even happens to fit in with the day of the week ... ;D

AtomFun