Portugal Trip - 2017

Where driving is the aim of the game
GraemeW

Portugal Trip - 2017

Post by GraemeW » Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:55 pm

Alex mentioned this elsewhere in the forum, reminded me that I raised the prospect of this trip earlier in the year. 

I have suggested organising a Portugal trip and I would really like to organise one of these for Atom/Nomad owners.  Three reasons really;

1. I am new to the Atom experience, and plan to make the most of it in 2017 (and beyond!)
2. Ive enjoyed organising a number of group car tours in Europe and UK, but haven't yet for the Ariel club.
3. As far as I know, there hasn't been a trip organised to Portugal for the club?  I have lived and worked in Portugal, speak the language (enough to get around), and know some great roads for the Atom (or Nomad).  Not to mention the sunny weather.

WHEN:
I would suggest either late June/early July,  or September 2017.  It would be 10 to 14 days depending on peoples interests, budget and how far south we went.

ROUTING:
Probably best to do the Portsmouth Santander ferry crossing, then I was thinking a due south drive through Spain to the North eastern side of Portugal, down into Portugal to the Douro river valley, a great drive along the river, down to Oporto (voted by some, as one of the best driving roads).  Perhaps a day or two in Oporto, where I lived.  I am imagining a great Atom photo opportunity by the old bridge Eiffel built. Similarities with the Atom frame.

After that I could plan it according to what people wanted or are interested in.  We could route down to Lisbon inland or coastal.  Perhaps down one way and up the other?  We could then continue to the Algarve.  Although its a small country the Algarve is quite different to the north or even Lisbon.  One thing I've learnt from other tours, its quite good to have short break from driving in the middle.  Perhaps on the Algarve? 

THINGS TO INCLUDE